Salsa Chicken Tacos

Do you own a crock pot? If you do, I’ve got to tell you about this recipe I made for my family. I specify my family because I actually don’t eat meat, but I cook for my family often and they’re the traditional meat and potatoes types. Anyway, moving on…

Everybody was thrilled with this recipe and it was so easy it’s kind of shocking. It doesn’t sound like much, but I swear it even smelled good.

What you’ll need:

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 15 oz. jar of salsa 

1 Envelope of taco seasoning

Note: My mom can’t handle much spice, so I did use mild salsa and mild taco seasoning, but you can use whatever you like. My brother & dad added a little Frank’s Red Hot sauce and everybody was happy.

I thawed my chicken breasts over night, but they weren’t entirely defrosted. I don’t think it would be a big deal to put them in there frozen. You may need to adjust your time a little.

What you do:

Throw the chicken breasts inside the crock pot. Toss the entire jar of salsa over the chicken breasts, as well as the taco seasoning. Put your crock pot on low for 6-8 hours, or on high for 4-6. That’s it!

I stirred the chicken around every now and again, but that’s really it. The chicken will be so tender and juicy that you’ll be able to simply use a fork to shred without much trouble. Make sure to shred the chicken and then place in a burrito or taco shell and top with whatever you like. 

Note: I used 6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts for 3 people. It made so much that we ended up freezing half of the entire contents, there was so much food! If you don’t want to freeze the left overs, I would say maybe one or two chicken breasts per person could suffice. 

Leave a Reply

